Thread: Blown Head 1.8l Freelander

byoung Guest

Blown Head 1.8l Freelander

I am new to the Land Rover experience. I have had the Freelander 3 months and it has blown on me. All the repairers say these are problem engines and a lot won't touch them. They say that it is likely the motor has twisted a sleeve and that only a full rebuild is the way to go. has anyone had a similar experience? Did you find a solution other than a full rebuild. Is a rebuild reliable?

Not happy

Bob

Total Downloaded
    Have you ducked down the road & spoken to Frank at ATV?

What's blown? The head gasket I assume.
    Or someting more drastic?
    Scott

Total Downloaded
    Yeah, Bob I will leave it to the more experienced Forum Users to advise you but I will tell you my experience, I don't know if it helps or not. I purchased a 2001 Freelander V6 in August of last year, vehicle in tip top condition. When all of a sudden last week there was coolant on the garage floor and what appeared to be oil in the coolant resevoir. On speaking to the local Landrover people, they gave me worst case scenario, Slipped cylinder liner, total rebuild required, cost up to $10,000 Ye Gods!!!

they couldn't book the vehicle in for two weeks so I went to my local mechanic, who I had been dealing with for years. He came back with good news (relatively speaking), the Auto transmission cooler was cactus and causing coolant and auto fluid to mix. Repair cost $1100. whew!!. The symptoms are somewhat similiar to HGF, or slipped cylinder liners, although I noticed when I idled the car in the garage the motor was running sweetly.

Good luck mate, I hope your mechanic has some good news for you!!!

Total Downloaded
    I am afraid to say - but you need to expect the worst and hope for the best - the worst being another engine - the best being a new headgasket. If you are able to rebuild yourself the I would give it a go - but if you get it done professionally then it is probably not cost effective to repair.