Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Brand spankin'

Total Downloaded

Brand spankin'

As the title suggests, I'm brand new to this brand and the forum. I am very interested in the Disco 4, I think they're the easy the sweetest thing of their type. However........a big however, EVERYONE tells me I'm mad to consider one. The reliability and failure woes I'm told are well known, steer clear, use your brains and only consider Toyota. Please talk me out of a Disco if thats pretty much the truth...over to you. Thanks guys.

Total Downloaded
    Firstly, Welcome! What part of Melbourne are you from?
    Discovery 3/4 have their problems, as does any make of vehicle. You'll find that the Nissyota fan boys will try and talk you into their make of choice as much as we will try and talk you into a D4.
    Are you buying new or second hand?
    Diesel or petrol?
    Poverty pack or full dresser?
    What will your usage patterns be, mainly onroad, offroad, long distance onroad, long distance offroad, doing the lap towing...?
    How long do you want to keep it for?
    What's your level of mechanical skill, and do you want to drive in/drive out of a dealer, or do all the work yourself?
    The LR vehicles have gotten a lot more reliable in the last 10 years. The D3/4 models are significantly better on the whole than the earlier Discoverys. That being said, they do have a few issues, but none that we here would consider deal-breakers. Others who own D4s will be along shortly with the finer details. Personally, I reckon that the D3/4 is the best all round vehicle out there. I love the Jeckyl and Hyde quality of them, you can be cruising at 100km/h and see an interesting track, chuck a u-ey, flip a couple of switches, and be climbing a steep rocky slope, then get to the other side, flip the switches back, and hit highway speeds again. That's just one of the many reasons we owners have "The Permagrin" on our faces.
    Regards, Will