Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need advice

Total Downloaded

Need advice

Evening.
    I am very new to this and have just purchased a s2a LWB with an original engine. My first idea was to swop the good bits from this onto a SWB but that fell through. I am now thinking of stripping the engine down, cleaning up the the running gear, and putting it back together.
    I have no experience and intend to use a workshop Book and YouTube for assistance.
    Any advice on what I should do and not do, where to get parts and general ideas would be most welcome.

Thanks
    Steve.

JDNSW is online now RoverLord Silver Subscriber
    Total Downloaded
    Step 1
    Have a look at the section headed Series 2/2a, and read as many of the threads as you can manage - probably starting with the most recent and working backwards.

These will give you a good idea of what you are likely to need to do, and also a very good idea how to do it and where to get parts.

(A lot of the Series 3 forum threads are applicable too)

Step 2
    Go to "shop" in the title bar just below the banner, and order the SERIESIICD, which includes the workshop and parts manuals on CD (last item in the list of CD/DVDs). The parts manual is useful for more than just ordering parts - it tells you where parts have changed (the letter suffix on the chassis number is the important bit), and it also has a lot more pictures than the workshop manual, which often really helps to show you how the bits go together (or come apart).