Thread: D3 Electric Brakes for Patriot X1 Camper

Total Downloaded

D3 Electric Brakes for Patriot X1 Camper

I know everyone here will have been over this many times, but I am a newbie with this. I am hiring an X1 Patriot Camper to tow with my D3 2006 HSE 2.7 TDV6 and I have been looking on the forum regarding wiring and trailer brakes and there are lots of posts and wiring diagrams but it is all very confusing to a novice. Do I need a trailer brake controller or is this built into the D3? The Patriot camper has 10" electric brakes and the one I am hiring has a 7 pin round trailer adapter for lights etc and an Anderson Plug for charging. I know the D3 has 2 plugs in the rear bumper and one can be used for lights etc and the other for charging. Do I just get an adapter made as as per the wiring diagrams on this forum for 7 pin to Anderson Plug for charging and check that the lighting one is modified to Aust Standards? Is it this simple or not?

LRD414 is offline Super Moderator Subscriber
    Total Downloaded
    Your thoughts regarding the lights and charging are pretty much right. But assuming it weighs over 750kg then yes you will need to get a brake controller for the electric brakes. Your D3 will not have one unless you or a previous owner fitted one.

Generally the details on the forum are for permanently fitted brake controllers and this may not be your preference given that you are only hiring the camper. But I don't know if there is a more transportable or interchangeable option. Perhaps check with the hire company.

If you go for a permanent fit there's plenty of details on here (as you've seen already). Level of difficulty is a subjective thing but if you're not confident, perhaps look into getting an auto electrician familiar with the Disco to install. You'll be up for probably $700-1000 at a guess.

Regards,
    Scott