PDA

View Full Version : HF radio in TD5

Michael
4th October 2003, 03:25 PM
Has any Td5 owner with a Barrett/Codan HF radio experienced the signal blanketing noise when the engine is running? + have you had any joy in fixing the problem? My Barrett 950 was fine in my previous Tdi. A technician from LR Australia 'said' that the interference was inherent in the car!
+ Having just returned from completing Goog's Track [S-N] with many sand-dunes the 'traction control' was a real nusiance in the final few metres of the dune where soft sand made the wheel spin with consequent computer initiated application of brakes slowing the vehicle down resulting in not gaining the top. In the Tdi more accelerator pressure usually ensured getting over. I have been driving Rangies and Discos [all manuals] since 1975 and have travelled the Gunbarrel/Simpson/Canning... a number of times never with as much trouble as with traction control. Maybe there could be a 'kill' switch just for sand dunes! A compilation of problems found in remote areas Td5 trips would be useful. I used VKS737 to get information of how to unlock the rear door on Td5 on the Goog's track when it jammed. Michael

bigbugga
4th October 2003, 04:04 PM
Have heard a lot of people complaining about the trac/control.
Havnt yet heard a good answer on how to fix it.

Did the lr tech tell you why the problem was happening?
Seems that if it worked in your last TDi it should work ok in the TD5.

Let us know if you find out

Michael
4th October 2003, 09:25 PM
It is good to know that I'm not the only Td5 owner with concerns.
A Barrett technician explained yesterday that new Toyota 4WDs have a similar problem and that Toyota will not concede that it is their problem and will not assist Barrett to find a solution!!! maybe the same with Land Rover? The technician did say that the solenoid which controls the excess fuel dump at the injectors is probably the cause.
Michael

Pirate
4th November 2003, 11:46 PM