PDA

View Full Version : Solar charging while running fridge off dual Anderson

synthium
25th April 2018, 08:44 PM
Hi everyone,
Is there any issue with a solar panel with a regulator being plugged into a dual Anderson lead which also goes to a 12v fridge and a deep cycle battery.

Or do I have to have the panel on a seperate cable straight to the battery?

dero
25th April 2018, 09:03 PM
if the reg is on the panel I can't imagine there would be a problem .

synthium
25th April 2018, 09:06 PM
That’s what I think. I just read somewhere that you shouldn’t mix charging and power inputs on the same cable but no reason as to why.

DiscoMick
25th April 2018, 09:18 PM
Hi everyone,
Is there any issue with a solar panel with a regulator being plugged into a dual Anderson lead which also goes to a 12v fridge and a deep cycle battery.

Or do I have to have the panel on a seperate cable straight to the battery?Can't see a problem, but I'm not an auto electrician.

bee utey
25th April 2018, 10:17 PM
That’s what I think. I just read somewhere that you shouldn’t mix charging and power inputs on the same cable but no reason as to why.

It depends on the thickness and length of the cables and also the power of the panel set. If the cables are not showing any significant voltage drop with the fridge running then they can be used for charging at the same time. Too thin/long cabling might let the regulator see some widely varying voltages and prevent it from properly charging the battery. I know when I last went bush camping with a 160W solar panel set it didn't seem to care where I plugged it in, sometimes I leant it on the fridge itself to shade it. It all worked together quite happily.

trout1105
26th April 2018, 12:25 AM
I have what I call a "Daisy Chain" lead made up of heavy wire and multiple Anderson plugs.
I run 2x 110AH batteries connected to a 40l and a 80l fridge that is either powered via a couple of solar panels when camped up or from the alternator in the D2a.