PDA

View Full Version : Replacing battery

86mud
4th March 2020, 08:35 PM
Hi all

I am new to this scene. My missus has a 2014 Range Rover Sport Twin Turbo Diesel.

The dash is showing low battery.

The owners hand book is stating that the battery is to be replaced by an authorised Landrover Technician.

So where is the battery hiding in this vehicle? Clearly not under the bonnet. Is there only one battery or two? Where can I source a replacement?

Thanks heaps

Nessie
4th March 2020, 09:11 PM
Battery is under the suspension compressor beneath the rear loadspace floor. Burson Auto Spares carry a replacement, and it’s near $600. You can get cheaper, but they are lower capacity. The battery monitoring system should be reset/recalibrated after replacement. Most independents can do this for a small price.
If you don’t do this the start/stop system may not work.

86mud
5th March 2020, 09:48 AM
Thanks Nessie.

Good to know Burson's have the battery. It's actually fitting it myself is what I am trying to achieve. There seems to be no info on the internet.

I'm wondering if I hook up a temporary battery in parallel, then remove the starting battery, install new battery then remove temporary battery, this will keep the battery management circuit open.

Nessie
5th March 2020, 10:24 AM
Thanks Nessie.

Good to know Burson's have the battery. It's actually fitting it myself is what I am trying to achieve. There seems to be no info on the internet.

I'm wondering if I hook up a temporary battery in parallel, then remove the starting battery, install new battery then remove temporary battery, this will keep the battery management circuit open.