PDA

View Full Version : D240 v P400

Delewis
3rd September 2020, 11:20 AM
G’day all,

First time poster (aside from the introductions thread). I freely admit I’m completely new to Land Rovers and have never owned a 4WD. However, I have been going outback and off road for years on motorbikes. Now I want to be able to take the family on weekenders and multi-week trips around Oz. I don’t need to be able to do rugged off-road driving or rock crawling.

As a one car (and two motorbike) family, the final say is always going to be with my wife – she does most of the urban driving, she is fussy (discerning?) about the way a car looks and drives, and flatly refuses to consider a Japanese or American 4WD. One thing we have always agreed on is that the Discos (especially the later models) look great and appealingly utilitarian. So when the new Defender demos arrived in Melbourne, we went for a test drive. Took about 1 minute for us to decide we loved the whole package. I’m not usually impulsive, but when my wife agrees to open the purse to buy an awesome new toy, I’m not going to stand in her way. I would normally thoroughly research before committing. This time, I just hit the buy button. We chose the D240 with some minor extras. Delivery in Feb 2021.