PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

Jedimastermat
18th May 2008, 09:39 AM
Hello AULRO

Newbie here. Bought 99 D2 TD5 auto 7 seater 2 weeks ago. OK its white but we do what we have to do. got 850km off 85L for first tank. so stoked compared to our Pathy. Not new to 4WD but new to LR and diesels. like most newbies have some dumb questions that once i get out of the system ill feel better and can move on. Figure newbies get one go at being dumb. happy to acknowledge know nothing at moment

1) SLS. Does the system "release" when the ignition is turned off. Got crap scared out of me second day. come out and there is new toy at funny angle with two shocks up and two down (opposite sides). Started her up and the D2 also and all was good. should all four go down, should all four stay pressurised. never had vehicle with system so know stuff all but want to learn. How do they go with a lift was thinking 2".
2) alarms and stuff. Can they be programmed? where?, how?
eg leave lights on, key in ignition, alarm sounds, thats good.
leave key in ignition, open dirver door, no alarm. thats bad as i tend to close doors with keys in ignition and forget them.
Same with seatbelt no alarm or dash light when no seat belt on and ignition on.
3) is the cassette/radio 2 DIN? looks squeezie. Will be pulling it out and replacing with tft/DVD/GPS/TV like other car. Any wiring tricks? didnt come with security code so once she comes out she aint going back in.
4) how does one get the headlight washers to work. read manual and be stuffed if I can get it to work.
5) was ACE std with these models, how do you know you have or havent got it. again never had a vehicle with it so dont know
6) read a couple of posts re chipping them. was thinking of that myself, does it work.