PDA

View Full Version : RRC Fuel consumption drama

rangierover
30th December 2008, 07:07 PM
Hey guys and gals, i have been hanging around this forum for a few months now, without posting until recently.

Anyway my problem is how much fuel my 1992 range rover classic is using.
when i bought it about 5 months ago it was very reasonable for a v8 4wd, using only 14-15 litres per hundred with me giving it a fair bit of boot most of the time.
since then i have kept it in service all filters are clean and it has good oil, and runs perfect apart from it is using now 25-30 liters per 100kms. i have since fitted 31 inch all terains. and that is basically the only mod besides little things like draws and batteries.

Any ideas on why it is such a pig on fuel?
is there any way i can tune it at home?

Andrew

BigJon
30th December 2008, 07:24 PM
Check the vacuum advance diaphragm. It is a common failure and causes high fuel consumption.

rangierover
30th December 2008, 07:42 PM
sorry to sound ignorant, but where and what is the vacuum advance diaphragm?

BigJon
30th December 2008, 08:10 PM
It hangs on the side of the distributor. It has a vacuum hose going to it.

It is there to advance the ignition timing at times of high engine vacuum (light throttle cruise), thereby giving better economy.

Grumbles
30th December 2008, 08:33 PM
And when you take it off to check don't lose the little screw which holds it or the lock washer and when replacing Loktite it back in as well.

Rangier Rover
30th December 2008, 08:38 PM
Also make sure thermostat is working ( 83 Deg I think) and test Temp sensor resistance as may be tricking ecu to running cold.
Try all the above with a good tune up etc 1st.

The tyre change should not make that much diference. If were 35's with 3.54 may though.

rangierover
30th December 2008, 08:48 PM
Thanks for your advice guys, ill check all of those things when i get home tomorrow.
Wish me luck!

Rangier Rover
30th December 2008, 08:51 PM