PDA

View Full Version : give me back my deposit

nsco2
13th August 2009, 05:07 PM
has anyone had any bad experience with a dealership that sells landrovers? well i have. i put down a deposit for a freelander 2 and they wont give it back? where do i stand? i didnt sign a contract or anything it was simple EFT. I was pressured into giving them a deposit before the end of the financial year and i told them i had to get financed approved - which took 4 weeks. i did in the end get finance then when i rang the dealership they didnt want a bar of me - so i went and bought a car off the fab people at MLR. now im trying to get back my $1000 from the old dealership! please give me some advice!:(

Offender90
13th August 2009, 05:20 PM
What did you give them a deposit for?

Did you have any kind of written contract / agreement as to what your deposit was getting you, what it binds you to and what it binds them to?

I'm not a lawyer, but in order to have a valid contract there has to be consideration on both sides. If not, as far as I can tell, the law is on your side, as any contract would be null and void.

Even if you had a verbal agreement, it is very difficult to prove, and given they are a dealership, they presumably take deposits all the time so you'd have a strong case for your money back.

Having said all that, the legal procedure is unpleasant - I went through a similar situation a couple of years ago when a **(insert your choice of expelative here)** mechanic **(another expelative)** up my engine. The legal procedure was just too time consuming that I gave up in the end. Sadly I cant publically rubbish the shop in question (as much as I'm itching to) as it leaves this great forum liable to a lawsuit.

Let us know how you go.

mike 90 RR
13th August 2009, 05:24 PM
With all legal matters ... there is 2 sides to a story

Take all your paperwork and your story and ring Consumer Protection .. They will be able to make sense of the issue at hand

Mike
;)

nsco2