Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Ronny has reviewed the defer

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    780

    Ronny has reviewed the defer

    Basic review....only having one day and no manual made it tough.


    2020 Land Rover Defender Review - YouTube

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    221
    it seems a bit of an oversight on both the dealer and the driver to neither explain or learn the TR set up prior to setting off, it is not rocket science and
    does not take long.. as for having to use the TR, I have not tried on sand, but in other situations in the RRS I have just selected low range and left the
    TR programmes off .. so yes you can just use it in basic 4wd low range mode.. A trip to Stockton beach is in order to test out that theory on the dunes
    in the future..
    MY20 Eiger 110 Defender P400
    MY10 Fuji RRS, 3 litre oil burner with e-diff, OL bar, winch, RAI, GOE Rock sliders & step out bars and a whole lot more

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    2,016
    Going from solid axles and no-tech (what Ronny is used to), to IFS/IRS and Terrain Response (entirely different planet) is like going from a piston engine to a jet engine, ie not an incremental evolution but a major revolution. Someone should have gone through and explained the systems to Ronny. I'm not surprised that this particular dealership ballsed this up.

    Having said that though, it does highlight how the tech in modern 4WD's has changed offroading, and the different headspace required to get the most out of your vehicle. It's not hard, but how many will take the effort to learn the systems and utilise all the tech? A quick trip a few days before his roadtest in a D3/D4 or RRS, with someone who knew what they were doing, would have been beneficial. Maybe someone from here can take Ronny out for a spin to show him all the bells and whistles the next time they go out...
    Last edited by cripesamighty; 18th October 2020 at 05:25 PM. Reason: punctuation and shorten sentence.
    Life is just a series of obstacles preventing you from taking a nap.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    16,705
    What are those two white square panels on either side of the vehicle near the back door/windows.

    Can you delete these - to me it looks silly.
    REMLR 243

    2007 Range Rover Sport TDV6
    1977 FC 101
    1973 Haflinger AP700
    1971 Jaguar V12 E-Type Series 3 Roadster
    1957 Series 1 88"
    1957 Series 1 88" Station Wagon

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Perth, WA
    Posts
    2,016
    They are two spots (left and right sides) to fit the 'side-mounted gear carrier' and/or ladder. I don't think the side panels can be deleted....yet. The accessories page below shows each. It's up to you whether you think they are useful/tacky or otherwise...

    2021 Land Rover Defender | Accessories | Land Rover USA
    Life is just a series of obstacles preventing you from taking a nap.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    16,705
    Quote Originally Posted by cripesamighty View Post
    They are two spots (left and right sides) to fit the 'side-mounted gear carrier' and/or ladder. I don't think the side panels can be deleted....yet. The accessories page below shows each. It's up to you whether you think they are useful/tacky or otherwise...

    2021 Land Rover Defender | Accessories | Land Rover USA
    Ok thanks - I have seen some pics of new Defenders online that do not have them.

    Garry
    REMLR 243

    2007 Range Rover Sport TDV6
    1977 FC 101
    1973 Haflinger AP700
    1971 Jaguar V12 E-Type Series 3 Roadster
    1957 Series 1 88"
    1957 Series 1 88" Station Wagon

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Brisbane West
    Posts
    6,492
    Quote Originally Posted by cripesamighty View Post
    Going from solid axles and no-tech (what Ronny is used to), to IFS/IRS and Terrain Response (entirely different planet) is like going from a piston engine to a jet engine, ie not an incremental evolution but a major revolution. Someone should have gone through and explained the systems to Ronny. I'm not surprised that this particular dealership ballsed this up.

    Having said that though, it does highlight how the tech in modern 4WD's has changed offroading, and the different headspace required to get the most out of your vehicle. It's not hard, but how many will take the effort to learn the systems and utilise all the tech? A quick trip a few days before his roadtest in a D3/D4 or RRS, with someone who knew what they were doing, would have been beneficial. Maybe someone from here can take Ronny out for a spin to show him all the bells and whistles the next time they go out...
    I agree although not if the analogy of piston engine to jet engine is meant also to be a reference to greater performance off road. Off road this vehicle is competent and clever but it is a compromise compared to long travel live axles with lockers or traction control. On road it would be a smooth excellent tourer. But yes he clearly needs to.learn to get the best out of the systems.

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2014
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    355
    This is 100% in Ron's lap, it's his video, his review, his reputation and integrity. If he wants his opinions, expertise and knowledge to be taken seriously he should do his homework, research the vehicle, make valid comparisons and present the facts.
    The car didn't have a owners manual, the dealer didn't know, I didn't have time, I couldn't work out the systems.........amature hour........and that's totally ok, there is absolutely nothing wrong with a tongue in cheek look at the world of cars, I am just not convinced that that's what this review actually was.
    For most of us here on the forum probably not such an issue, we understand the TR system or perhaps have some knowledge about it or are at least able to make some effort about finding out. For those who see that video without the underlying understanding, It's a bit of a nail for the vehicle that's not really warranted.
    MY13 D4 Nara Bronze HSE, Almond Interior, E-Diff, 18" Compomotive, Traxide, OL Bar, GAP IIDTool, Pioneer Tray, DAB+ and LOGIC 7 ICE retro-fit, Vintage SEV Marchal Driving lights (weird I know but what can I say), RVSS Twin Alloy Drawer System

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    1,338

    Ronny has reviewed the defer

    Itís just embarrassing it has 20Ē rims as LRs flagship off-road vehicle.

    Why why would the dealer who provides driver training options not give any pre-training or support? Itís like lending your gun for the day.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    4,392
    This review lived down to my expectations...............................bloody terrible. "Amateur hour" indeed. What is this dope thinking doing a review on a car he knows nothing about, hasn't researched? He can't drive it, can't work the TR and he's testing a car (D240) that's no longer available.
    Disco 5 SD4 HSE 2018
    Disco 4 3.0 SDV6 2014
    Disco 4 2.7 2011
    Disco 3 V6 SE 2007

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Search AULRO.com ONLY!
Search All the Web!