Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: any opinions on this compressor for quick/dirty fit up to 4BD1T/LT95a

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Batemans Bay mostly, and Brisbane
    Posts
    259

    any opinions on this compressor for quick/dirty fit up to 4BD1T/LT95a

    As above- seeking opinion on this compressor for quick/dirty fit up to my 4BD1T/LT95a 130.
    New T3 T4 TO4E Turbo Turbocharger 420HP + Oil Line Kit for Nissan TD42 Safari 6941324414576 | eBay
    I've long 'had it up here' with the standard Garrett TB2518 fitted to the 1994 plated 4BD1T in my 130. Fuel economy is respectable but boost is nearly non existent. As buyers for this vehicle have not presented with the folding material, I'll plug on with intended mods- like I have nothing better to do..
    I have to date about 7 sets of odd-flanged turbo's sitting on the shelf for other projects (W460/OM605 and various korean copies of OM602 German engines) but all have different flange setups. I'm saving the holset he221w I bought some year or so ago, but wanted something to fit to the ever reliable 130 because that's what i always intended to do.
    Seems that this chinese offering has the goods. Seller has reasonable rep as well.
    Advice? Is it Contra-indicated?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Woolgoolga
    Posts
    7,255
    Pretty big compressor and turbine wheels there. 10mm bigger than a td04hl-19t and he221.
    Damien
    ------------------------------------------------

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    1,416
    Do the words cheap and dirty belong in the same sentence as turbocharger?

    I have a turbo from a 611 laying in the back of the van, no idea of condition or flange size though

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Batemans Bay mostly, and Brisbane
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by Vern View Post
    Pretty big compressor and turbine wheels there. 10mm bigger than a td04hl-19t and he221.
    Yes...which raises concerns about boost characteristics, spool time and surge relative to rpm. Alternatives for T3 flanged compressors in the application are somewhat limited though. Given clearances between bonnet and ex manifold, I wanted to avoid using a flange adapter..but don't want something that spools late and surges inappropriately.
    I would have thought that if this item is a direct replacement for TD42 nissan pushrod six- which has a higher rpm ceiling but not dissimilar late teen to early twenties torque curve to the 4BD1t- then i couldn't be far wrong. I don't feel like mucking about with wastegate settings. I might head over to Dougal's old page on 4BT swaps to see if he modelled a T04e setup.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Batemans Bay mostly, and Brisbane
    Posts
    259
    Quote Originally Posted by LRJim View Post
    Do the words cheap and dirty belong in the same sentence as turbocharger?

    I have a turbo from a 611 laying in the back of the van, no idea of condition or flange size though

    That compressor will have a K type triangular flange...likely a GT2256 or similar....possibly a pressure actuated VNT as well.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Woolgoolga
    Posts
    7,255
    Just get a holset, hx30, hx25w, hx30w, he221, garret tb2568 (stock isuzu) or the likes, all direct bolt on.
    Damien
    ------------------------------------------------

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Geelong, VIC
    Posts
    4,295
    From experience the HX30W is definitely an easy fit.
    No constraints with clocking the exhaust or compressor housing like you'd have with the one you listed.
    The compressor and turbine specs on the one you listed are fraction larger than the Super HX30W that the US guys are fond of for their 4BT's. Should be able to provide more air than you can fuel for, but might be a bit lacking down low.

    For the price though, I think you should try one and let us know

    Steve
    1985 County - Isuzu 4bd1 with HX30W turbo, LT95, 255/85-16 KM2's
    1988 120 with rust and potential
    1999 300tdi 130 single cab - "stock as bro"
    2003 D2a Td5 - the boss's daily drive

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Search AULRO.com ONLY!
Search All the Web!