Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 39

Thread: Video reviews

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Ormeau, Gold Coast,Queensland
    Posts
    10,034
    It's already becoming repetitious , every journo has done the best tests and has exclusive footage.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    May 2019
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    69
    The all drove the same route in Namibia (except for a couple in the UK) so reviews were bound to be similar.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    267
    What Iím taking away from these reviews:

    Sounds like LR has delivered a vehicle that - at least while itís new and fully functional - will take you through some pretty challenging environments in a pretty relaxed manner. If your work required you to drive through out of the way places, youíd be wanting your vehicle to give you an experience of comfort and capability and practicality similar to what these journos have described. Some recreational off-road masochists would have a different set of priorities, but there are many people who would like to do outback touring in a 4WD that lives up to the claims that LR makes about this new vehicle.

    The #1 question that these reviews canít possibly answer is how reliable this Defender will be over time, especially in these sorts of conditions. And the #2 that follows immediately after that is how difficult and costly it is to make things right when something goes wrong unexpectedly.

    I liked one of the comments in one video that apparently the limp modes are designed to retain much more of your capability envelope for exactly this reason Ė to increase your ability to recover from a tricky situation. And another which was that the plastic trim on doors, sills and bumpers is designed to break cleanly and be (relatively?) cheaply replaced. You could see a missing chunk on one of the UK test vehicles right behind the front left wheel in one review.

    Very much looking forward to test driving a D240.
    2010 Discovery 4 3.0 TDV6 SE
    BFG KO2 265/60/18 on Tuff Ant wheels
    Front Runner Slimline II full size rack

    MY16 Discovery Sport SE SD4 (2.2) 5+2 seats
    Eibach lift springs, General Grabber AT 255/55R18

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges.
    Posts
    6,874
    While it is easy to be impressed, it seems that all the journos on the Namibia trip were car journos. There didn't seem to be any specialist 4WD writers along. The tracks were of course chosen knowing the car could cope.

    I like it, on first impression, but I'd wait for maybe a year. Let it bed in, see what the real world says. But I'd hazard the guess that LR will sell them by the shirtload. And I still believe it will become the logical successor to the D4. Minus the split tailgate, sadly.
    ​JayTee

    Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time. Sir Terry Pratchett

    2000 D2 TD5 Auto: Tins
    1994 D1 300TDi Manual: Dave
    1980 SIII Petrol Tray: Doris

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Canada
    Posts
    773
    Every video is another motoring journalist that has never driven off road in their lives. But they have no problem stating how good is is off road... Insane.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 1970
    Location
    Narre Warren South
    Posts
    4,608
    Orchestrated by Land Rover (as every launch is orchestrated by the manufacturer).
    Journalists have been flown out at LR's expense so duty bound to reel off all the LR stats they've been given.

    Looks like it meets the needs of a modern 'driver'....comfortable, entertainment system, tells you the water depth without you checking first etc. etc.
    Problem is that the modern driver wants to change the vehicle as often as they change their smart phone, it'll be interesting to see how the resale value holds up.

    Intrigued by the comment that the external plastic trim 'breaks cleanly' and is cheap to replace !? I wonder what they mean by cheap ?

    I look forward to some real World test drives when the public can actually buy them.


    Colin
    '56 Series 1 with homemade welder
    '65 Series IIa Dormobile
    '70 SIIa GS
    '76 SIII 88" (Isuzu C240)
    '81 SIII FFR
    '95 Defender Tanami
    '60 SII 109 ute (gone)
    Motorcycles :-
    Vincent Rapide, Panther M100, Norton BIG4, Electra & Navigator, Matchless G80C

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Heathcote Junction
    Posts
    792
    Looking at what has been done on the trips in the reviews it does not look like they have tackled anything that i would not do in a Discovery whether that be 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5.
    Cheers

    Chuck

    Current - D5 SDV6 HSE
    Ex D1, D2, D3, D4

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges.
    Posts
    6,874
    Quote Originally Posted by chuck View Post
    Looking at what has been done on the trips in the reviews it does not look like they have tackled anything that i would not do in a Discovery whether that be 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5.
    My view also. I would not hesitate to tackle that stuff in my LRs, although I confess some of the downhill rock stuff might put me off in my SIII 109. And maybe the water crossings.... and.... The Discos though? No worries.
    ​JayTee

    Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time. Sir Terry Pratchett

    2000 D2 TD5 Auto: Tins
    1994 D1 300TDi Manual: Dave
    1980 SIII Petrol Tray: Doris

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Heathcote Junction
    Posts
    792
    JT

    Last time i drove a series III 109 I was a soldier which was a long time ago.

    Driving LR's back then was work not pleasure lol

    Used to have a well sorted D2 which at time ran 34" Simex JT2's - could not keep up with double locked Defenders but it used to do ok.
    Cheers

    Chuck

    Current - D5 SDV6 HSE
    Ex D1, D2, D3, D4

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Dandenong Ranges.
    Posts
    6,874
    Quote Originally Posted by chuck View Post
    JT

    Last time i drove a series III 109 I was a soldier which was a long time ago.
    You were spoilt. We only had IIAs.
    ​JayTee

    Real stupidity beats artificial intelligence every time. Sir Terry Pratchett

    2000 D2 TD5 Auto: Tins
    1994 D1 300TDi Manual: Dave
    1980 SIII Petrol Tray: Doris

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Search AULRO.com ONLY!
Search All the Web!